Friday, June 23, 2006

MLS Players in the World Cup

EDIT: Updated for 2010.

Here's a list of every MLS player that has played in the World Cup since the first opportunity in 1998. I'm counting only guys who were with an MLS team at the time. Some notes:

1) FC Dallas continues to be the only original MLS team without a World Cup player.

2) KC/LA are the only two teams to send a player to all four tournaments since the league started. Due to Tony Meola sitting the bench in 2002, the Galaxy are the only team to have a player play in each tournament.

3) Columbus' 5 players in 1998 remain a record.

4) The teams with the most players sent are: KC-7, LA-7, CLB-6, NE-5, NY-5.

5) Only five players have made it twice in a row while playing for the same MLS team: Pablo Mastroeni, Brian McBride, Eddie Pope, Cobi Jones, and Landon Donovan.

6) Overall, MLS has sent 53 players to the World Cup:

USA Foreign
1998 16 5
2002 11 0
2006 11 4
2010 4 2

Total 42 11

The full list:

(italics = did not play)

C.D. Chivas USA

2006-John O'Brien, Claudio Suarez (MEX)
2010-Jonathan Bornstein

Chicago Fire

1998-Jorge Campos (MEX)
2002-DaMarcus Beasley, Josh Wolff

Colorado Rapids

1998-Marcelo Balboa
2002-Pablo Mastroeni
2006-Pablo Mastroeni

Columbus Crew

1998-Thomas Dooley, Brian Maisonneuve, Brian McBride, Jurgen Sommer; Andy Williams (JAM)
2002-Brian McBride

D.C. United

1998-Jeff Agoos, Eddie Pope
2002-Eddie Pope
2006-Ben Olsen

F.C. Dallas


Houston Dynamo

2006-Brian Ching

Kansas City Wizards

1998-Preki; Uche Okafor (NIG)
2002-Tony Meola
2006-Jimmy Conrad, Eddie Johnson, Josh Wolff
2010-Roger Espinoza (HON)

Los Angeles Galaxy

1998-Cobi Jones
2002-Cobi Jones
2006-Chris Albright, Landon Donovan, Cornell Glen (TRI)
2010-Edson Buddle, Landon Donovan

Miami Fusion

1998-Carlos Valderrama (COL)

New England Revolution

1998-Mike Burns, Joe-Max Moore
2002-Carlos Llamosa
2006-Clint Dempsey, Avery John (TRI)

New York Red Bulls

1998-Alexi Lalas, Tab Ramos; Marcelo Vega (CHI)
2002-Clint Mathis
2010-Andrew Boyens (NZ)

Philadelphia Union


Real Salt Lake

2006-Eddie Pope, Douglas Sequeira (CR)
2010-Robbie Findley

San Jose Earthquakes

1998-Eric Wynalda
2002-Jeff Agoos, Landon Donovan

Seattle Sounders FC


Tampa Bay Mutiny

1998-Frankie Hejduk, Roy Wegerle

Toronto FC



1998-Brian McBride
2002-Landon Donovan (2), Clint Mathis, Brian McBride (2)
2006-Clint Dempsey


Comments on "MLS Players in the World Cup"


Anonymous bmvaughn said ... (8:04 PM, May 11, 2010) : 

Would be neat to see this for 2010!


Anonymous Anonymous said ... (9:44 AM, June 12, 2010) : 

I agree, I was just looking for a list for 2010 and came upon this! Thanks for taking the time to put this together; very interesting even if not up-to-date :)


Blogger KrisColeNY said ... (11:04 AM, June 13, 2010) : 

Blaise Nkufo will join the Sounders at the end of Switzerland's run.


Anonymous cheap viagra said ... (2:58 PM, November 10, 2011) : 

Hi, listen, I'm pretty new on this blogosphere and Internet thing, so I don't know if there's a sort of "subscription" method that I can use in order to receive notifications of your new entries...? Thing is I enjoy reading your blog a lot and I'd like to be up to date with your posts!


Anonymous price per head services said ... (4:06 PM, January 26, 2013) : 

I don't know why Dallas hasn't gotten a player like that. it attracts more people to the team and it is better for the experience that they can get.


post a comment