Monday, November 06, 2006

An MLS First For 2006

Ok, this is the kind of obscure stat that you've come to know and love from Climbing the Ladder. It's a good one:

2006 is the first year where neither team that made the MLS Cup won the Supporters Shield or US Open Cup. The MLS Cup winner, runner up, Open Cup winner, and Shield winner will be four different teams (CHI-DC-HOU-NE).

1996-DC (Open Cup)
1997-DC (Shield)
1998-CHI (Open Cup)
1999-DC (Shield)
2000-CHI (Open Cup), KC (Shield)
2001-LA (Open Cup)
2002-LA (Shield)
2003-CHI (Open Cup, Shield)
2004-KC (Open Cup)
2005-LA (Open Cup)

Comments on "An MLS First For 2006"


post a comment