Wednesday, August 27, 2008

MLS Reserve Division Leading Scorers

The reserve division stats on MLSnet are incomplete for both 2005 and 2007; the pdf's for those seasons only go up to a certain point in the season. The former is only missing the final four games, but the latter is missing a huge chunk of the season, so I had to go through each match report and add up things by hand. Why is this important? Because the leading goalscorers listed on the pages for each season are therefore incorrect. I was looking up to see who won the golden boot each year, but I couldn't find it.

Heh, I feel like I'm on an edition of Pierre Bernard's Recliner of Rage. Bottom line America: Major League Soccer should update the reserve division portion of their web site to include pdf's with full data for both the 2005 and 2007 seasons, so we can see who the leading goalscorers are without having to add up the stats ourselves.

Here you go. Be sure to note Chris Wondolowski's dominance, leading the league the past two years and finishing second in 2005. That's a total of 29 goals in 3 years. Ryan Pore is another reserve division god, finishing in the top ten in all 3 seasons as well. It appears he's near the top again this season too.


9 Jamil Walker DC
8 Chad Barrett CHI
8 Dante Washington RSL
8 Chris Wondolowski SJ
7 Connally Edozien NE
6 Sasha Gotsmanov COL
6 Ryan Pore KC
6 Jamal Sutton CLB
5 Mamba Chisoni LA
5 Luchi Gonzalez COL
5 Wolde Harris COL
5 Abe Thompson DAL


13 Chris Wondolowski HOU
7 Ryan Pore KC
5 Herculez Gomez LA
5 Arturo Alvarez DAL
5 Chris Brown RSL
5 Calen Carr CHI
5 Thiago Martins COL
5 Yura Movsisyan KC
4 Matt Nickell DC
4 Dominic Oduro DAL
4 Melvin Tarley COL
4 Blake Camp NY
4 Lucio Filomeno DC
4 Floyd Franks CHI


8 Anthony Hamilton CHV
8 Chris Wondolowski HOU
7 Ryan Pore KC
5 Jerrod Laventure NY
4 Kyle Brown RSL
4 Jose Cancela COL
4 Mike Caso CLB/LA
4 Floyd Franks CHI
4 Gavin Glinton LA
4 Kei Kamara CLB
4 Andrea Lombardo TOR
4 Yura Movsisyan KC
4 Dominic Oduro DAL
4 Matt Taylor CHV
4 Jamie Watson RSL

Note: If you judge this the same way as the normal MLS Golden Boot, then Wondolowski is the winner because he had 1 assist vs 0 by Hamilton.

Comments on "MLS Reserve Division Leading Scorers"


Anonymous Anonymous said ... (8:57 AM, August 27, 2008) : 

MLS needs to update a lot of their stats, including the whole '02 season. You'd think with the money they are making they could afford to hire a statistician or two to handle this.

Maybe they should just bookmark your blog and certain parts of BigSoccer instead?


Anonymous Anonymous said ... (10:27 PM, August 27, 2008) : 

Fully agree with you that Chris Wondolowski is a great player. We have seen him play in a number of games and he just needs to get some continued starting time in the big games.
His little brother (stephen)is up and coming too in the Reserves.


post a comment