Wednesday, August 05, 2009

MLS 2009: Penalties Earned & Conceded

A list of all penalties can be found on the league stats page (scroll to the bottom). However, on that page they don't list who earned and conceded the penalties like they used to a few years back. I've always missed that, so I keep track of it myself by looking through match reports.

This seems to be the year of the handball. The past four years have seen 10, 10, 6, and 6 handballs result in penalties. We still have a third of the 2009 season to go, and already there's been 14. All four players with two penalties conceded have been called twice for handballs in the box (Omar Gonzalez twice in the same game).

The Columbus Crew's Danny O'Rourke is nowhere to be found on the conceded list after giving up a remarkable and possibly record breaking four penalties last year (several of which may have been dubious, but oh well). However, one man is making waves for earning penalties: DC United's Christian Gomez. He's already earned three penalties this year. The last player to earn three in a single season was Carlos Ruiz in 2005.

Penalties Earned

Christian Gomez DC 3
Bobby Convey SJ 1
Brad Davis HOU 1
Brian McBride CHI 1
Chris Pontius DC 1
Conor Casey COL 1
Dane Richards NY 1
David Ferreira DAL 1
Dominic Oduro HOU 1
Eddie Gaven CLB 1
Fabian Espindola RSL 1
Freddie Ljungberg SEA 1
Herculez Gomez KC 1
Jeff Cunningham DAL 1
Kheli Dube NE 1
Luciano Emilo DC 1
Maykel Galindo CHV 1
Omar Cummings COL 1
Patrick Nyarko CHI 1
Paulo Campos SJ 1
Robbie Findley RSL 1
Steve Ralston NE 1
Taylor Twellman NE 1
Wilman Conde CHI 1


Penalties Conceded

Marvell Wynne TOR 2
Omar Gonzalez LA 2
Rodney Wallace DC 2
Seth Stammler NY 2
Alberto Celades NY 1
Bakary Soumare CHI 1
Bryan Jordan LA 1
Bryan Namoff DC 1
Carlos Johnson NY 1
Chad Marshall CLB 1
Cory Gibbs COL 1
Dasan Robinson CHI 1
Dejan Jakovic DC 1
Dema Kovalenko LA 1
Drew Moor DAL 1
Geoff Cameron HOU 1
George John DAL 1
Gergg Berhalter LA 1
Ivan Trujillo CHV 1
Jair Benitez DAL 1
Jed Zayner CLB 1
Jon Busch CHI 1
Jon Conway NY 1
Kevin Harmse TOR 1
Marc Burch DC 1
Matt Besler KC 1
Michael Harrington KC 1
Mike Zaher SJ 1
Nat Borchers RSL 1
Nick Rimando RSL 1
Osvaldo Alonso SEA 1
Pablo Mastroeni COL 1
Rauwshan McKenzie KC 1
Shavar Thomas CHV 1
Ugo Ihemelu COL 1
Will Johnson RSL 1

Further Reading

Labels: , , ,

Comments on "MLS 2009: Penalties Earned & Conceded"


Anonymous Anonymous said ... (1:06 PM, August 05, 2009) : 

Of the 3 PK's that RSL has conceded, Rimando has saved 2 of them


Anonymous Anonymous said ... (2:31 PM, August 05, 2009) : 

Ferreira "drew" one of those handballs, imho. I guess there's no way to keep track to that, is there?


Blogger scaryice said ... (3:49 PM, August 05, 2009) : 

I could keep track of that, I just don't feel that it should count as an earned penalty.


post a comment