Monday, May 24, 2010

OTFATT 2010: Update #2

Previous Updates

#1 4/21 66 players remaining

OTFATT is short for "On the field, all the time." In these updates throughout the season, I'll be keeping track of which MLS players have played every minute of every game (regular season only). That feat has been accomplished 39 times in 14 seasons by 29 different players. Click here for the complete list.

Over the past month, we've dropped from 66 to 27 players remaining. The list includes 10 goalkeepers and 17 field players. Seattle became the first team to be eliminated.

With Ike Opara off the list, Tim Ream is now the last rookie left. In the five years, the last rookies were Darrius Barnes, Luke Sassano, Ty Harden, Jonathan Bornstein, and Michael Parkhurst.

International callups have certainly had an impact. Jonathan Bornstein and Sacha Kljestan dropped off due to being called up to the US World Cup camp, while Pat Onstad missed the Dynamo's victory with Canada, who are preparing to play Argentina (was it really necessary to have him there?).

And on a sad note, it's now two months into the season and's team stats pages are still missing players. Sigh.

Remaining Candidates (27)

2 CHI Brown, Dykstra
1 CHV Trujillo
1 CLB Hesmer
3 COL Moor, Pickens, Wynne
4 DAL Ferreira, Harris, Hernandez, John
1 DC Wallace
1 HOU Chabala
1 KC Nielsen
2 LA Dunivant, Gonzalez
2 NE Burpo, Gibbs
3 NY Coundoul, Petke, Ream
2 PHI Orozco, Seitz
1 RSL Rimando
2 SJ Cannon, Hernandez
1 TOR Frei

Order of teams being totally wiped out for 2010, with last surviving player:

1. SEA - Osvaldo Alonso (5/8)


Comments on "OTFATT 2010: Update #2"


Anonymous Anonymous said ... (7:51 PM, May 24, 2010) : 

Dykstra doesn't count as a rookie?

Also interesting that Dallas is the only team with any attacking players on the list. Will Atiba Harris be the first player to drop off because of a yellow card suspension?


Blogger scaryice said ... (1:43 AM, May 25, 2010) : 

Dykstra is seeing his first regular season action this year, but he was on the roster last year and officially is not a rookie. Like how Michael Bradley was ineligible for ROTY in 2005.

Besides, Dykstra played in an Open Cup match last year.


post a comment