Tuesday, October 18, 2005

On the field, all the time (final)

One month from the last update, the MLS regular season is now over and no one else was eliminated. Five players played every minute of every game. They are Todd Dunivant (LA), Simon Elliot (CLB), Pat Onstad (SJ), Bo Oshoniyi (KC), and Michael Parkhurst (NE).

Five guys ties the record set in 2001. I thought the longer season plus the international games, as well as more teams missing the playoffs would mean that we would see fewer than the four last season make it, but I was wrong.

Personally, I'm surprised that Elliot ended up making it, despite Columbus playing several meaningless games at the end. The others weren't a big shock. Parkhurst did come out of nowhere, but midway through the season he seemed like a lock to make it, and he did.

We can now add these guys to the alltime list:

Played Every Minute

2005-Todd Dunivant, Simon Elliot, Pat Onstad, Bo Oshoniyi, Michael Parkhurst
2004-Joe Cannon, Jim Curtin, Richard Mulrooney, Steve Ralston
2003-Tony Meola
2002-Nick Rimando
2001-*Scott Garlick, Tim Howard, Steve Jolley, Zach Thornton, Kerry Zavagnin
2000-Joseph Addo, Nick Garcia, Scott Garlick, Peter Vermes
1999-Peter Vermes
1997-Mike Burns
1996-Preki, Steve Trittschuh

* Scott Garlick was traded from Tampa Bay to Colorado, and I believe he played every minute that he was available for between both teams.

Comments on "On the field, all the time (final)"


post a comment