Monday, December 19, 2005

Open Cup final: goalscorers

A few interesting factoids for today:

1) In the 10 years since the league was formed, no MLS player has scored more than one goal in an Open Cup final.

2) Jaime Moreno, Jerzy Podbrozny, and Eddie Pope are the only players to score in both an MLS Cup and an Open Cup final. Podbrozny and Pope both did it in the same year.

3) The average goals per game in the last ten years:

2.9-MLS Cup
1.8-Open Cup final

4) There have been 18 MLS teams in the Open Cup final out of a possible 20. Rochester made it in 1996 and 1999, the latter a 2-0 win over the Rapids. So 16 of the 18 Open Cup final goals were scored by MLS teams. Discounting the 1 own goal, that makes 15.

But here's the interesting thing: only 4 were scored by Americans. Eddie Pope in 1996, Frank Klopas in 1998, Danny Califf in 2001, and Herculez Gomez in 2005. In the MLS Cup, Americans have scored more often.

Open Cup finals

1996-DC United 3:0 Rochester (Diaz Arce, Pope, Moreno)
1997-Dallas 0:0 (5-3 pks) DC United
1998-Chicago 2:1 (OT) Columbus (Podbrozny, Klopas; John)
1999-Rochester 2:0 Colorado (Miller, Allnut)
2000-Chicago 2:1 Miami (Stoitchkov, own goal; Welton)
2001-Los Angeles 2:1 (OT) New England (Hendrickson, Califf; Harris)
2002-Columbus 1:0 Los Angeles (Garcia)
2003-Metrostars 0:1 Chicago (Ralph)
2004-Kansas City 1:0 (OT) Chicago (Simutenkov)
2005-Los Angeles 1:0 Dallas (Gomez)

Home teams listed first, except for 1997 and 1999 which were played in neutral venues.

Comments on "Open Cup final: goalscorers"


Blogger Sherpa said ... (8:25 AM, December 20, 2005) : 

Very cool blog. Love soccer, and have played since i was a tyke...very cool to see this blog out there.


post a comment